Skip navigation

Six years ago on the seventh of January, I went to the courthouse with Mwiche Kalinda and we became man and wife.

There was no crowd of people that we knew cheering us on, no minister that we had hired, no special suit for me or dress for her, and no photographer around either to capture the moment. Just a crowd of other couples ready for their vows, a judge that kept the line of couples moving as each one stepped forward to say their “I do”, and a lot of nervousness, excitement, and love felt between me and my new wife Mwiche James.

Mwiche James

As with all couples, we’ve had our ups and downs, our arguments and make-ups, and we’ve had our secrets that aren’t spoken of to anyone else. And we’ve had our faith in the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit to help us through things.

Today, we have two children, a boy and a girl. David James II is going to be 5 years old come March 2nd, and Tehilla James is going to be 2 years old come June 23rd.

D.J. and Tehilla

We went from being two people going to a courthouse to four people making up a loving family.

The James Family

And on Friday, the kids stayed with my mom as my wife and I went out to have an evening together that we haven’t had in quite some time.

We went driving for a distance to eat at the Olive Garden and had a pleasant time talking on the way down. No radio. No CDs. No kids. Just the two of us being able to talk without interruption. Doesn’t happen as often as we would like and we took full advantage of it. The wait at the restaurant was almost an hour, but once we were in our seats the waiter was very nice and took care of all our dining needs. We talked less at that point, but when we did it coupled the great emotion we both felt as we knew that we loved each other just as much now, if not more, than we did on the day we went to that courthouse.

Upon leaving the restaurant, we decided not to take in a movie after all because of the lateness so we left to go home. Before we got to the highway though we thought we’d stop at the Super Wal-Mart to get a few things. As she went in, I chose to stay outside a bit to let my stomach settle some and told her I’d join her in a bit. After I began to get cold, I decided to go inside. We walked around Wal-Mart a bit more for some other things and then left for home.

Once home, we completed the night the way a married couple should and afterward went to bed.

Then, later on, I found out the hard way why it’s called “Dinner and a movie” and not “Dinner and a walk around Super Wal-Mart” as my stomach was not as settled as I had thought.

My wife was very understanding and let me sleep in quite late – even for me – because of my restless night.

And that’s just one of the many things that reminds me of why I love this woman that I have been married to now for six years and counting.

Me and Mwiche

Leave a Reply

