Skip navigation

Wow!

That’s all I can think when I consider the weekend I had a few days ago. Never having gone to Dragon*Con before I only had vague notions of what to expect. The shear vastness of it was overwhelming.

I’ll have to go into further detail on a later blog or two, and once I can get the photos off my camera I’ll post some pics, but here’s how my time went for the sake of this blog entry:

Friday:

I left early in the morning to make it there in “plenty” of time to make sure I didn’t miss anything. Then not being familiar with driving in downtown Atlanta traffic (I could walk all over the place just fine as I used to live there), I wound up back on the highway once and then drove past the hotel I needed to sign in at. When I finally parked I was on the roof of the parking deck.

While signing in I found out that the William Shatner/Leonard Nimoy talk was going on right then to kick things off, so I missed that. There was a long zig-zagging line of people for Dragon*Con registration that counted in the hundreds I’m sure. We would first go to where we would pay, then we would go to where we were registered, then we went to pick up our badge. Next year, I’m going to pay online and avoid this line. Probably will have to go through a different line though.

Once that was over with, I made my way to the Hyatt where John Schneider and Catherine Bach of the original Dukes of Hazzard TV series were holding a panel and John was late while Catherine had some fun at his expense. John was also on the Smallville series as Johnathan Kent, Clark’s Earth dad. I got to ask a question of John about if he was going to do more sci-fi oriented stuff, and he said he was interested in that, and had thought after Smallville he would have gotten more, but as of yet nothing had come his way.

After that, I went up to where the free food was and scarfed down some grub at “Sisko’s” where a fellow dressed in a Starfleet uniform from Star Trek was looking like Captain Benjamin Sisko of Deep Space Nine and directing traffic into the room and once inside was making sure everything was going well. While I ate, a fellow sitting next to me did a caricature of me and we talked about the comicbook he was wanting to do.

Then I went around talking with people about Beyond the Charts for a while and then tracked down the 4PM reading that Kevin J. Anderson and his wife Rebecca Moesta was doing that I had told them I would come to. Earlier this year I had been given an invitation by Kevin to join his fan forum and we had e-mailed quite a bit since then and I had posted on his forum, so I said I would come to some of his forums and check out his booth.

I’ll write more in a separate blog, but let me just say that Kevin J. Anderson is one of the nicest most gracious person I have met in a long time.

After the reading, we went back to his booth and hung for a while and then because there was a party at this restaurant/bar called Max Lager’s, we went over there early and sat eating and getting to know each other. Kevin insisted on paying for my meal. We had a great conversation and after that the party started and Chris Brown the guitarist from Kevin’s Roswell Six album (not to be confused with the Chris Brown who beat up Rihanna earlier this year) started playing some songs and the mood lightened even more. During the meal and the party, I enjoyed a Root Beer that they brewed right there for people that don’t drink. If it wasn’t for my medication, I would have had a Pina Colada with vodka – my favorite. As it was, that Root Beer wasn’t bad at all. I’ll have to eat there again when I go to Atlanta.

After the party, I helped Kevin move some things back to the hotel from the bar and then we parted ways for the night.

I spent some time talking with others about Beyond the Charts and then I turned in for the night myself.

That was Friday.

I think I’ll do separate blogs for the remaining days so that this one doesn’t get too long. For sure, Dragon*Con was quite an experience!

Be encouraged,

David James
Founder – Beyond the Charts, LLC
beyondthecharts@beyondthecharts.com
http://www.beyondthecharts.com
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Clarkesville-GA/Beyond-the-Charts/94716168345
http://www.myspace.com/beyondthecharts
http://www.twitter.com/beyondthecharts

Leave a Reply

